Christmas Presents

I have been working very hard on making and wrapping Christmas presents this past week. The last few years have found me making several of a particular pattern (each year I might add is different) simply because it is relatively easy, looks fantastic, has a purpose to the item and because – and most importantly – I like it.

This Travel Case is a prime example. It was a pattern I picked up on ebay – along with three lovely fat quarters – and honestly I can say to make one of these will take maybe an hour – probably less if you get like me and make them in bulk.

So far I have made five – but I’m feeling the need to make more they are so much fun and (I think) make fabulous gifts.

Most I used velcro as a closure on them, but the floral I experimented with a tassel and two buttons. It works well – but for men I would imagine velcro would be soooooo much easier….lol.

Inside there are pockets for notebooks, pens or whatever else you want to put in them. The cars/trucks case also has maps in it as it is destined for a friend for when he goes on holidays. The theory is he will leave it in his car and therefore not loose anything important – like the road map. The other case may end up with sewing supplies in it – I haven’t yet made a final decision.

I have also made quite a few of these Notebook Holders for the ladies. I have one in my bag and use it all the time. It’s ideal for storing receipts, making notes and just generally holding onto things that I don’t want to loose in the black hole that is my hand bag.

The left hand side has two pockets you can slide notes etc into, it has a holder for the pen and a generous sized notebook just right for making a quick note or jotting down ideas.

2 thoughts on “Christmas Presents

  1. Really clever ideas Catherine, thanks for sharing with us. Please keep it up, lol, you’re providing me some inspiration here.

    I’ve got a lot of fat-eighth and fat quarter sized hand-dyes these would be great for. I started hand-quilting my bingo quilt last night and the material isn’t the best to quilt through so items like these would be a great way to use it up.

    Karen

  2. Hi and thank you for sharing your projects..Very tallented. Your sister Yvonne shared your site with me and you certainly put this Territory girl to shame..Keep sharing as I am going to add your sit to my favorites. Cheers Sue

Thank you for leaving a comment. I love to read your thoughts on my posts and I do try to respond, sometimes though life gets in the way.