Cucumber Relish

If you are like me this year your Cucumber plants have decided that they will grow and they will produce “fruit” and you will be inundated with Cucumbers.  If you are also like me you will have a 13 year old boy who loves to eat a cucumber whole – but not even he can keep up with the bounty that I have been picking on an almost daily basis.  Which makes it a far cry from last year when all my plants ended up with powdery mildew and dropped dead at the drop of a hat. I couldn’t use the cucumbers last year at all but strangely enough this years plant (yes I only put in one thank goodness) was grown from seed which came from last years cucumber.  Work that one out if you can.
Cucumbers

I found this old recipe many years ago and haven’t made it for ages but it’s a good one.  A friend loves it particularly with cheese and biscuits or cold meat in a sandwich   I do have a confession to make here. I really don’t like pickles/relishes/chutneys  of any kind. It’s just one of those condiments that I don’t enjoy eating………but I LOVE making them so work that one out.

This recipe is from The Esk Valley Cookery Book which I think is from around the 1950’s so all the measurements are in pounds and ounces.

Cucumber Relish

1 pound Apples

1 pound Onions

1 1/2 pounds Cucumber

1/2 pound Sugar

1 pint Vinegar (I use white)

2 ounces salt

1/2 teaspoon Cayenne Pepper

Peel, core and cut up apples and cook in vinegar till soft. Allow to cool then add other ingredients, onions and cucumbers to be cut very small. Mix all together and put into jars. Leave one month before using.

****** NOTE – I cut up the onion finely and grate peeled apples and cucumber trying to avoid any seeds in the cucumber.  I then put everything into the saucepan – vinegar, apples, cucumbers, pepper, sugar and salt and bring it to the boil. Boil gently for a few minutes until everything is really hot then bottle into hot sterilized jars and label.

 

PS  If your Relish is a bit watery just cook it gently until the liquid reduces. Mine was – maybe the cucumbers had more liquid in them than normal, I don’t know –  but reducing the liquid by a slow simmer worked and now the relish is lovely and thick.

One thought on “Cucumber Relish

  1. I have to admit that I’m not a big fan of anything chutney or pickles except for baby dills and only with grilled cheese sandwiches. I did make some pickles once way back when and we ended up throwing it all out because nobody would eat them. A jar of pickles lasts anywhere between 6 months to a year in our fridge so what’s the point of making the stuff?

    I love canning but about the only thing the kids would eat was my strawberry jam. No other kind just strawberry. I love making the stuff but end up throwing it all out after a few years.

Thank you for leaving a comment. I love to read your thoughts on my posts and I do try to respond, sometimes though life gets in the way.

