Lemon Lassies

I have to tell you that if you don’t try this slice, and it’s incredibly easy, you will spend the rest of your life regreting it and wondering what all the fuss is about.

I cleaned up my cook books the other day. There was lots to clean up.  Recipe books that are mine. Recipe books that are Grandma’s.  Recipes that have been clipped from newpapers and magazines – both Grandma’s and mine and even more recipes I have found on line. Can you tell I inheireted my love of cooking from Grandma. She was the typical country cook. Hearty meals, delicious cakes and biscuits and scones that just melted in your mouth and all created with an eye on the weeks sometimes very tight  budget.

Lemon Lassies is a new recipe clipped from a newspaper, goodness knows when, but having just tried it is was so worth the little bit of effort to make it.  I don’t know if I clipped it out or Grandma did (it’s been hiding in the folder for so long it’s origin is a mystery) but what a find when I did try it.

Lemon Lassies Slice

Lemon Lassies

Biscuit Pastry

250 grams butter

250 grams sugar

1 egg

1 tablespoon golden syrup

2 1/2 cups self raising flour

1/2 teaspoon bircarbonate of soda

1 teaspoon cinnamon.

Cream butter and sugar, add egg and golden syrup, mix well.  Sift dry ingredients, combine well with butter mixture.  Chill then press half into a greased and lined lamington tin.

Filling

1 cup sugar

4 eggs

1/2 cup lemon juice (I used nearly a cup as I like it very lemony)

1 tablespoon grated lemon rind  (didn’t use this as I was using frozen lemon juice from last years crop)

2 tablespoons melted butter

2 cups coconut

Combine sugar, eggs, lemon juice and rind and butter in a saucepan, stir constantly over low heat until thickened.  Add coconut, mix well.

Spread over pastry base and crumble remianing pasty evenly over top.

Bakle in a moderate oven for 30 minutes or until set and light brown.

When cool, sprinkle with icing sugar or ice with lemon icing. (I didn’t both with this as it was sweet enough as it was).

Slice when cold.

The recipe also says that it freezes well.

Mum and I have just enjoyed a slice (or several) with our afternoon cuppa and it got the thumbs up from both of us….vbg.

5 thoughts on “Lemon Lassies

  1. Looks delish Catherine. I’ve made something similar to this and it’s always the first to go at the potluck gatherings.Thanks for the recipe 🙂 my hubby is a big lemon meringue fan.

  2. Looks nice……….thanks for your visit and kind comments.
    Both the new baby and I were asleep on the sofa till the alarm went off. Clock was set to AM and alarm was correct…clock was not.

Thank you for leaving a comment. I love to read your thoughts on my posts and I do try to respond, sometimes though life gets in the way.

