This Is On My Mind……

Potatoes.

Potatoes in a Wine Barrel

The first harvest from the potatoes I have been growing in the wine barrel in the cat cage.  We had a frittata  (a first for all of us) for tea last night loaded with vegies and Kabana and sausage and freshly picked potatoes lightly boiled then served with butter and salt.

Fresh Picked Home Grown Potatoes

Yummy.  The family were very impressed with how much nicer home grown potatoes are compared with the shop bought.

I only harvested the very top potatoes and it looked like there were heaps more in the barrel.  I can see we will be growing more potatoes this way next year.

To what is on Rhonda’s mind, and others, check out Rhonda’s Blog – Down-to-earth.

9 thoughts on “This Is On My Mind……

  1. A fabulous harvest. I love the generosity of homegrown potatoes and the way they taste SO much better than shop bought. Have fun thinking up ways to cook with your gems! 🙂

  2. YUM!
    I love homegrown spuds!
    I love them boiled in their skins (scrubbed first!) slathered with butter and served with steamed peas….delish!

  3. I’ve just discovered potatoes can be grown in a bag. It seems fairly straight forward, so I’m thinking of giving it a try. It’d be wonderful to have homegrown potatoes.
    ~S.

Thank you for leaving a comment. I love to read your thoughts on my posts and I do try to respond, sometimes though life gets in the way.

