This Is On My Mind……

Fruit Trees……or more specifically……. an Advocodo seedling.

With the onset of Autumn – crisp nights and pleasantly warm days – the urge to plant becomes stronger.

I have been trolling the net and checking out books in my local library trying to find what sort of fruit trees I want to plant. Heritage Apples are high on the list – it’s just a matter of deciding which ones to order and then plant.  There are only so many apples we can eat and there are already two apples trees in the orchard – “Lady William” and “Granny Smith”.  Both “girls” are loaded with fruit but I want to extend the season more with some earlier varieties.

Of course the search for  Apples then leads to varieties of cherries, apricots, peaches and other stone fruits and eventually to Advocodo’s. 

Avocodo Seedling

I don’t know if this tiny seedling will ever set fruit but  the fact I have managed to put a seed in a pot, wait months for this shoot to appear is a triumph in it’s self.  It will be carefully nurtured until the time comes for it to be planted out in the garden. 

Fruit or not this tiny tree is Mother Natures way of saying “I exist”.

Thanks as always to Rhonda for this Friday photo feature that anyone with a blog can join. It opens the door to us sharing our lives through these photos and gives us all a new way to discover each other, and maybe form new friendships. Your photo should show something at home that you’re thinking about TODAY.

9 thoughts on “This Is On My Mind……

  1. Well done to have it to sprouting stage but be careful of the cold/frosts as Avocados are a bit sensitive to this for a few years. Good luck and hope it grows to a big tree!

  2. your sprout is indeed a beauty! I saw a variety of apple yesterday in the English Country Living that is a rosy red when cut open – and even stays this pretty colour after cooking! Let me find the name … it is a Sutton’s Red Love. I don’t know if it’s available in Australia, but you can check it out at http://www.suttons.co.uk. Good luck with your sprout!

  3. planting fruit tress is on my “to do” list. Any advice on working out which varieties are best suited to different regions? I’m in SE QLD, with hot summers and frosty winters, so I’m never sure whether to go for sub-tropical or temperate varieties.

  4. Being able to pick great tasting apples is such a treat. My hubby has his varieties staggered according to ripening, so we have a continuous supply for a while.

    I went mad planting avocado seeds everywhere (because I could!)… now, I have quite a few trees coming up. I love their foliage and, if they fruit, that will be a bonus. As Robyn commented, they are a bit frost sensitive, but they soon recover I’ve found. Guess it depends where you put them too.

    Cheers!

  5. Definitely keep us all updated on how your avo grows! You’ve inspired me to try the same, we’re mad for avos, I shall be planting one this weekend!

Thank you for leaving a comment. I love to read your thoughts on my posts and I do try to respond, sometimes though life gets in the way.

