An Overload of Crochet

To say that I have been hooked on Crochet (pardon the pun) would be something of an understatement of late.

It’s the perfect fast and easy occupation for me at the moment and I’m loving it so I thought it high time to show you some of my projects, some  new books I have bought and the cotton yarn I have been playing with.

Finally the Circle in a Square Afghan is finished.  Well actually it was finished a few weeks ago and already been used.  With the strange weather we have been having, hot one minute – cool the next,  it’s the perfect thing to pop over my legs while I’m working on yet another project.

A couple of new books have been purchased.  I wanted a really good reference book of both crochet and knitting stitches – something I could refer to time and time again and with a good variety of stitches that I could increase my skills and challenge my brain as I felt like it.

The Ultimate Source Book of Knitting and Crochet Stitches fits the bill nicely.  Not only does it have wonderfully clear photos of each stitch type but it also has both the knitting and crochet stitches arranged from easy to experienced.  There are sections on lace, borders, motifs and it even includes a note on each stitch as to what the drape of the stitch is like should you ever wish to make up a garment in that stitch.

I have been experimenting with some of the easier crochet stitches and have made up a few wash cloths just to try them out.  This wash cloth is crocheted in Peephole Chevron Stitch which was super easy and gave a lovely look.  Ohh and the colour of the cotton is much nicer than the photo suggests.  It’s called Honeydew and is the prettiest green.

I had to expand my stash of Bendigo Woolen Mills Cotton of course.  The last visit to Bendigo with Nicola resulted in another four balls to add to my ever growing pile.  All but one of these are 8 ply yarn (the top sea green ball is 4 ply) and so super soft and easy to work with and they wash up beautifully even when they are used to scrub dishes.  You can find the website of the Bendigo Woolen Mills here.

It isn’t all work and no play around here when it comes to crochet.  The last time I was at the Spinning group in Cohuna one of the ladies had this book 100 Flowers to Knit and Crochet by Lesley Stanfield.  It’s brilliant and of course I just had to buy a copy for myself…vbg.  Both knitted and crochet flowers which are arranged from easy to experienced.  The crochet flowers have both a chart and written instructions which are easy to follow.  I have made a few flowers and leaves out of the book with no problems.  It would be an ideal book to buy if you are wanting smaller items to decorate hats, bags or whatever else you fancy.

Since a Rooster has figured so prominently in these photos I’m reminded to give you an update on my fox situation.  I’m happy to say so far the Fox family hasn’t revisited although my girls are still pretty jumpy.  Hopefully our fox proofing methods will work as I have the school chooks to look after over the holidays starting this week.  perhaps some new playmates will make my girls settle down a bit. Thank you all for the varied and lovely comments on our chook lossses.  To say it was a shock was an understatement.

One thought on “An Overload of Crochet

  1. What a marvellous post Catherine with lots of eye candy with the books, yarn and of course the crocheted throw. It turned out lovely. I love the setting of white that sets it off, nice and cool.

    Glad the chooks are still around and hope the foxes are foiled.

Thank you for leaving a comment. I love to read your thoughts on my posts and I do try to respond, sometimes though life gets in the way.

