Patient Update

Hi All

A very quick post cause I’m off to bed and it’s not even 8 pm.  The patient is on the mend but it’s going to be a long slow process.  For a while there I thought this morning we may end up back in hospital but thankfully the vomiting stopped and Elise has now begun drinking small amounts of flat lemonade and even ate some plain potatoe for tea.

A victory at last.  For a while there it seemed that we were taking two steps forward and one backwards and were literally living minute by minute.    Every minute she didn’t throw up was a bonus….sigh.

I’m beginning to understand how those parents of seriously ill children feel.  How on earth they cope day after day is beyond me.  It’s only been a few days and I’m seriously struggling and this is just a simple illness.

Please forgive me for not replying to all your lovely emails and comments personally.  I just haven’t had time or the energy – between running after Elise and spending hours washing in the twin tub machine.

The good or bad news (depending on who you are asking) is my front load washing machine is fixed…supposedly. I used it tonight to put through yet another load of washing only to have it make horrible grinding noises which Ashley tells me is the pump and now he will have to look at that.   I seriously thought of taking an axe to the whole machine but something tells me he would be even able to fix that damage…..groan.

Right off to bed. Thank you all for your love and support over the past few days.  Elise is just amazed that people she has never met let alone communicated with are sending cyber hugs and wishing her well.  I keep telling her it’s this wonderful blogging community I am part of.

Many hugs

Catherine.

5 thoughts on “Patient Update

  1. Well after reading all your posts Elise is like part of our family as well so of course we love and care for her. The same goes for the rest of your gang.

    Give her a big hug and tell her all her honorary aunties are rooting for her to get better and sending virtual hugs across the ether to her 🙂

  2. I’m so sorry that Elise was so ill, but am relieved to hear that she is doing better. There are few things as scary as having our child ill. Prayers going out for the whole family. I did get a laugh out of you taking an axe to the washer, but Ashley could probably fix it anyway. Sounds like he is a treasure. There is a Hank Williams Jr. song, “A country boy can survive”, and I guess that Ashley is a member of the Australian branch.

  3. Sounds slightly more promising with the washing machine if it is a pump!!! That was the expensive part that forced us to get a new machine !!! so fingers crossed it won’t be Ashley fixable!!!! Glad Elise is a little better xx

  4. I’m glad to hear that Elise is feeling a bit better. I hope that you manage to get a break for yourself at some point. I’m with you, I can’t imagine how parents of very ill children get thru it, but I think that we all have some ability within us to rise up and face those sorts of challenges even if we think we can’t.

    The laundry sounds like a pain. Hopefully Ashley can get it up and running for you soon, lucky for you that it seems like he is a handy guy and can deal with those sorts of things, my hubby certainly couldn’t do that!

  5. What a terrible stressful time. Not much is worse than a sick child (and the washing that goes with it…). Go on, list that washing machine on ebay. Ha! I hope Elise is really on the mend now xx

Thank you for leaving a comment. I love to read your thoughts on my posts and I do try to respond, sometimes though life gets in the way.

