In Limbo

Yesterday ended up being one of those horror days that you don’t want to repeat anytime soon.

Elise end up vomiting for nearly 12 hours.  I took her up to Emergency at the hospital at 2.3o pm. She had seen some blood when she had thrown up and that was enough of a warning sign to get help.  So we saw a Doctor. Now can I just say here I have no problems with foreign Doctors.  I think they do, in general a fantastic job and most are very caring and attentive of their patients.  This one was the opposite. He looked at her tongue – “not dehydrated” he said. ” Give her an injection” – well at least that’s what I thought he said.  Next thing we are being taken into a room and they are setting up a drip.  Elise – who hates needles with a passion – of course panicked and was nearly hysterical and he asks (puzzled look on his face) “what’s wrong with her?”  I explained she doesn’t like needles and he offered tablets instead.  No problems she thought she could take them.  As it was we still had to subject her to a blood test but the lady in Pathology was at least very understanding and very, very careful in how she took the blood.  So we were sent home with ” if anything shows up on the blood tests we will ring you meanwhile if she gets worse or you are concerned see your doctor”  to more vomiting.

I rang the Doctors clinic.  There were NO Appointments for the next TWO days and they suggested I try Emergency again.  By this stage the stress levels are at an all time high and I had been very patient but I don’t think the lady at the Doctors clinic liked me telling her that the medical services in this town are simply not adequate.

By 7.30 pm we were back at Emergency where the male nurse proceeded to tell me that had we not refused the drip the first time we were there she would not now be in this condition.   Hmmmmmm.  He was told (politely I might add) in no uncertain terms of what I thought of medical people who, one – I could not understand, two – people who didn’t explain fully to a frightened child and mother what exactly was going on and three –  what I thought of people who said “but’s it’s just a routine procedure for vomiting”.

Having cleared the air somewhat (and yes I did later apologise even though I didn’t think I really needed to) they proceeded to get Elise into the Doctor as quickly as possible. Now this Doctor was foreign but a completely different kettle of fish to the other one we had seen.  He actually examined Elise, took notes, asked about previous history and explained that the blood she had seen would have been the throat tearing during vomiting and that it wasn’t anything to worry about on it’s own.  He also said that the blood results didn’t show anything unusual and why she needed the drip and what it would do.  He also explained to her in detail just how they would insert the drip and why they did it that way.

Yipee at last an understanding Doctor.

Ten minutes later she was on a bed.  It took another fifteen minutes to find a vein to put the drip in.  The nurse said (one who also was also in the room when I told the male nurse what I thought of “everyday procedures”) she would only get one chance at putting in the drip and wanted to make sure she caused Elise no more pain than absolutely necessary.

One hour and one litre of fluid later Elise was able to go home.  She had medicine to stop the vomiting and the stomach cramps (all put in through the drip line so there was no pain) and instructions to rest.  While we were there she started shaking with cold and the Doctor (who checked on her every few minutes despite being fairly busy) immediately called for her blood pressure and temp to be taken to rule out any other underlying problems.  Throw in a urine sample that was clear and she was given the ok to go home.

There has been two more rushes to the bathroom this morning but nothing too serious so far.  She has had what medication I can give her and is now resting. I have called the school and told them she wouldn’t be at school this week and we would wait and see about next week.  There is no way she is going back to the stress of exams until she is entirely well.

As you can imagine my stress levels are at an all time high and I’m in limbo to frightened to start anything in case we have another trip to the hopsital.  Ashley, while not saying anything, has stayed home most of the morning on the pretext of doing paperwork I think to give me some moral and much needed support. He will never admit that he is worried too but I know he is.

So now we are hopefully on the road to recovery.  It seems selfish to worry about the stitches and craft show now – but I’m wondering if I will even get there.  Part of me knows that I need the break and it will do me good – the other part tells me I shouldn’t leave my girl even if she is well.  I will wait until Thursday to make a final decision.

Thank you for the kind concern and emails I have received regarding Elise.  They mean a lot.

7 thoughts on “In Limbo

  1. One HUGE Hug coming your way!! (((((*)))))
    From someone who has been in Elise’s shoes WAY too many times herself and whose mother was clearly in your shoes, I can relate and can understand everything you said! I am happy that a “good-LISTENING” doctor finally crossed your path and I hope the best, best, best for Elise. Keep rubbing her back and patting her hair :0) It may not be much, but she’ll love you for it :0)

  2. Poor Elise I share her dislike for needles and I hate vomiting too – you feel so out of control and so vunerable… Poor things both of you – lots of hugs and good wishes coming your way… 🙂 🙂 If you miss the Stitches and Craft show it would be a shame – but there will always be another one plus there is another (can’t remember the name) craft & quilting fair from 23rd – 26th of July at Jeff’s Shed – I spent the WHOLE day there last year…
    I realised a couple of weekends ago that you may not have received an email I sent you (in reply to yours) about the Stitches and Craft show – I was cleaning out my sent box and it wasn’t there so I presume the computer troubles we were having at that time swallowed it – I didn’t want you to think I hadn’t replied…
    Anyway have a great time if you go and if you don’t perhaps mark the one I mentioned in your diary – Cheers Sharon – Melbourne xxx

  3. Poor girl, hope she is feeling better really soon.

    Plus well done you mother for standing up for better medical care. As fabulous as nursing care is (and I speak as the child of a nurse) sometimes I think the personal gets lost in the pursuit of the clinical.

  4. Poor Elise. Hugs to both her and to you. I certainly understand how worrisome it is to have your child ill. Hopefully she will be feeling better soon. Please try to take a minute for yourself and relax, Catherine.

  5. Ah, so sorry to hear about Elise and I hope she gets feeling back to normal soon. It’s very scarey to have a really sick child and to feel helpless to do anything, good for you standing up for her against the medical people. I sometimes think unless you make a fuss people just tend to ignore you because it’s easier that way.

    My daughter’s partner just recently had the vomiting for three days and they went to the hospital. After waiting for several hours he’d had enough and just went home. He probably should have had a drip as well. The average wait around here in emergency is about 4-6 hours on a fast night. There’s a shortage of doctors everywhere.

Thank you for leaving a comment. I love to read your thoughts on my posts and I do try to respond, sometimes though life gets in the way.

