Country Spirits

Remember that Country Spirits Quilt I was working on?   The one that I admired so much on Amy’s blog?  Well I’m pleased to say it is finally at the stage where I have it pinned to the gammill just waiting to be quilted.

What a very long and drawn out process it has been.

I had a “helper” who just had to sit on top of everything just as I was getting the blocks laid out the way I wanted them.

Then I decided that I didn’t want to do the stars that the quilt pattern used – I would do them my own way.  Hah – I should have stuck with the pattern it would have been easier in  the long run.

This star worked – quite a few others didn’t all spin the way the should.  By the time I had finished it was me spinning out of control.  It’s a good thing this quilt is destined for the car because I would be too embarrased to put it in the house.

It now has the rest of the borders attached ( I thought I had taken a photo but apparently not) and is now pinned to the gammil waiting to be quilted.  I figure that way I have to finish it.

So after a morning of housework, five loads of washing, cleaning bathrooms, making lamingtons and a pie for tea tomorrow night plus changing sheets on two of the beds – I now feel quite guilt free in popping into the sewing room to work on the next quilt which, thank goodness, is coming together so much better than this one did and might even get a place in the house to call it’s own.  Off to sew and take more photos.

2 thoughts on “Country Spirits

  1. I’m feeling the same way about several projects that are still sitting around the house and it seems like I’ve dragged out getting them done as well. It’s good to see that you’re almost done the quilt and then you can feel good about getting it done and move on to other things.

Thank you for leaving a comment. I love to read your thoughts on my posts and I do try to respond, sometimes though life gets in the way.

