Time For a Book Review

I loooove books.  I mean I really loooove books but I confess I don’t buy heaps.  The price puts me off plus the fact I read so fast that to spend $30 on a book and have it read (ideally without interruptions) in 2 or 3 hours just doesn’t seem like a good use of my money. The books I do buy I read over and over and over again.  It’s a bit like visiting an old friend for a comfortable sit down and chat – you alway come away spirit refreshed and ready to face the world again.

Having said all that I have been having a huge buy up of books since I discovered Fishpond (www.fishpond.com.au) . it’s an Australian site with the most magnificant range of book and best of all free postage if you purchase  $50.00 worth or more.  Guess how easy it is to spend that much money…vbg.

So some of the books I have purchased recently are………drumroll…………

Gaudynski’s Machine Quilting Guidebook.  Absolutely brilliant. I read it cover to cover on the way to Maureen’s and honestly couldn’t put it down.  Easy to read and understand.  Packed full of inspiration and encouragement.  I am a bit timid when it comes to machine quilting on my domestic machine – but this book helped to rid me of many of those fears – now I’m just trying to find time to play.  The ideas here can also be adapted to a gammill or other larger quilting machine as well.  The book is spiral bound which makes it easy to prop up near where you are working for easy reference.

Feathers, like books, are another favorite and I couldn’t resist The Art of Feather Quilting. A really easy to follow book although if you didn’t want to design the feathers yourself there are heaps of designs in the book you could use or adapt for your own projects.   I love feathers but didn’t have a clue how to even begin drawing them.  This book splits it down into easy to manage segments like the “Anatomy of  a Feather”, “Straight Line Designs”, Undulating line Designs” and more. Each is a step by step section guiding you along the way.  The designs in the book can be used for hand or machine quilting.

Ok so I bought both of these books on Continuous Quilting Patterns.  Guilty as charged.  I honestly couldn’t decide which one I wanted most and since Fishpond’s books are heavily marked down I figured I could afford both…vbg.

Both books are easy to read – you just look at the pictures….roflmol.  Honestly…… big easy to follow pictures of continuous quilting patterns.  Loads of ideas for one, two, three or four row patterns – you just follow the coloured line and you’re done.  Ohh and don’t think that you can only do all over patterns with these. I used one pattern and adapted it (very easily I might add and I’m no expert in this) to go around the border of a recent quilt I was quilting and it worked brilliantly.  A lot of the designs in the books come in several different sizes (ie 3/5 inch, 5 inch, 7 inch) that kind of thing which makes them really handy.

Colour on Cloth. This has to be my all time favorite book out of all I have received so far.  Rave reviews where ever I looked so I just had to buy it.  Step by step instructions for dyeing with Procion MX dyes (which I use) in all sorts of ways.  There is even how to dye using flour paste, flour dextrin (which I might just have to order at some stage), resist dyeing, the works.  The book begins by giving basic lessons in colour theory – which I am hopeless at ….one of the reasons I bought the book – and encourages the reader to experiment with dyes on cartridge paper just to see what colours you can come up with.  Needless to say I have bought a book of cartridge paper and am just trying to find time to experiment…..hopefully tomorrow all going well.

I might add all of the above reviews are my own thoughts and will hopefully give you some idea on what the books are like should you be interested in them.  As always leave a comment or email me if you want to know more.

More books are arriving soon……shhh don’t tell anyone…vbg.  I will let you know what I think of them when they are received and read.

4 thoughts on “Time For a Book Review

  1. I am a HUGE book fiend, you won’t find me discouraging you in any way. I love to buy them for reading and crafting and sometimes the craft books are only to read to find out how they do that…

  2. Looks like a good selection. I’m hoping to do some quilting too, and am very interested in your opinions on the books. I may be doing some shopping.

  3. Pingback: Today…… « Calidore

Thank you for leaving a comment. I love to read your thoughts on my posts and I do try to respond, sometimes though life gets in the way.

