Block A Day

Despite not getting much other sewing done I am keeping up with the BAD blocks – “BAD”  being a good description for some of them…sigh.  I am getting down to scraps in some colours (which is a good thing when it comes to using up my stash) the trouble is those scraps are in my favorite colours.  Still it does give me a good excuse to start cutting into those new fabrics I have been buying.

I am also becoming very creative in seaming scraps together to make up enough fabric to cut a block piece….vbg.  It’s a nice feeling knowing I have used every last scrap of that particular piece of fabric.

Like the “Illinois” block May 19 – Mexican Rose i- s also one I could see myself making again.

It must be the colours I chose to work with – cause it sure can’t be the fabrics.  I ran out of the cream – you can’t see it in the block but some of the smaller triangles are a different light fabric.  I thought I had cut enough triangles in the chicken wire fabric only to find when I was sewing them together I was one triangle short. I seamed together some pieces of fabric, cut out the triangle and proceeded on, only to discover when I was joining more parts together that I had sewn two triangles to one square.  I must have picked up two and not realised and treated it as one.   Did I unpick that part of the block and resew it I hear you wonder?  Not a Chance!!!  If the triangle was that keen not to be parted from it’s sibling – who am I to argue.  See you do get the warts and all versions of my sewing……lol.

As always the latest blocks are in my flick album – just click the link on the side bar to see more.

3 thoughts on “Block A Day

  1. Hi, enjoying your progress as usual. loved seeing the kids sew, great fabric choices. Sounds like you are getting the “word” on your sewing, I wonder who from, tell them what i say…it keeps me out of trouble and is more fun than an affair! Shuts most people up!
    That green dress is to die for, can see it gorgeous with LOTs of kermit green eyes shadow!!! Tracey

  2. Hi, enjoying your progress as usual. loved seeing the kids sew, great fabric choices. Sounds like you are getting the “word” on your sewing, I wonder who from, tell them what i say…it keeps me out of trouble and is more fun than an affair! Shuts most people up!
    That green dress is to die for, can see it gorgeous with LOTs of kermit green eyes shadow!!! Tracey

  3. It is so good to see someone doing this. I have thought about it for the many years I have had my calendar and never done one yet.
    Maybe I can start with some I like and date them rather than trying to do every day.
    Congratulations. It is so good to be inspired and motivated.

Thank you for leaving a comment. I love to read your thoughts on my posts and I do try to respond, sometimes though life gets in the way.

