I Am Thankful

I have been having one of those days where I was feeling quite sorry for myself. I’m tired (despite having a nanny nap), have a bad headache which won’t leave me and quite frankly I’m feeling a little peed off at a person (who shall remain nameless) who informs me (in only the nicest most caring of voices and manner) that I am doing too much sewing and that I should be saving my money instead of buying more fabric …..and not it’s not my hubby or kids! Deep breath – This too shall pass. I will get over this and quite frankly that person will either shut up or be told to shut up.

All those little aggravations disappeared when this email popped into my inbox from a friend. Sorry there are no pictures to accompany it – I cant work out how to load them. Still the message is a good one.

I AM THANKFUL: FOR THE WIFE
WHO SAYS IT’S HOT DOGS TONIGHT,
BECAUSE SHE IS HOME WITH ME,
AND NOT OUT WITH SOMEONE ELSE.


FOR THE HUSBAND
WHO IS ON THE SOFA
BEING A COUCH POTATO,
BECAUSE HE IS HOME WITH ME
AND NOT OUT AT THE BARS.



FOR THE TEENAGER
WHO IS COMPLAINING ABOUT DOING DISHES
BECAUSE IT MEANS SHE IS AT HOME,
NOT ON THE STREETS.



FOR THE TAXES I PAY
BECAUSE IT MEANS
I AM EMPLOYED
.



FOR THE MESS TO CLEAN AFTER A

PARTY


BECAUSE IT MEANS I HAVE
BEEN SURROUNDED BY FRIENDS.


FOR THE CLOTHES THAT FIT A

LITTLE TOO SNUG
BECAUSE IT MEANS
I HAVE ENOUGH TO EAT.



FOR MY SHADOW THAT WATCHES

ME WORK
BECAUSE IT MEANS
I AM OUT IN THE SUNSHINE




FOR A LAWN THAT NEEDS

MOWING

WINDOWS THAT NEED CLEANING

,
AND GUTTERS THAT NEED FIXING
BECAUSE IT MEANS I HAVE A HOME .


FOR ALL THE COMPLAINING


I HEAR ABOUT THE GOVERNMENT


BECAUSE IT MEANS
WE HAVE FREEDOM OF SPEECH.



FOR THE PARKING SPOT


I FIND AT THE FAR END OF THE

PARKING LOT


BECAUSE IT MEANS I AM CAPABLE OF WALKING
AND I HAVE BEEN BLESSED WITH TRANSPORTATION
.

FOR MY HUGE HEATING BILL
BECAUSE IT MEANS
I AM WARM.


FOR THE LADY BEHIND ME IN

CHURCH


WHO SINGS OFF KEY
BECAUSE IT MEANS
I CAN HEAR.



FOR THE PILE OF LAUNDRY AND

IRONING


BECAUSE IT MEANS
I HAVE CLOTHES TO WEAR.




FOR WEARINESS AND ACHING

MUSCLES


AT THE END OF THE DAY

BECAUSE IT MEANS I HAVE BEEN
CAPABLE OF WORKING HARD.



FOR THE ALARM THAT GOES OFF


IN THE EARLY MORNING HOURS

BECAUSE IT MEANS I AM ALIVE.


AND FINALLY, FOR TOO MUCH

E-MAIL

BECAUSE IT MEANS I HAVE


FRIENDS WHO ARE THINKING

OF ME.

I hope your day is a good one.

Love and hugs

Catherine

PS  I promise I shall resume normal blogging soon….vbg.  There are some projects on the go ie I have bought the bits and pieces I need for them – now just to settle down and play and then photograph them.  Ohh and the block of the day blocks have been recommenced – two down and I haven’t lost my touch with half square triangles – thank goodness…..roflmol.

7 thoughts on “I Am Thankful

  1. What is your ‘negative adviser’ saving her money for? Obviously, not for the creative pleasure that your hobby brings not only to you, but to all your family and friends.

    Thanks, Catherine, for sharing that email; I have read it before but not for a long time, and it’s good to be reminded.

    Someone commented the other day about being homesick for their country of birth; another commented that she didn’t have the luxury of being homesick as she was a displaced person and no longer had a country to call home.

  2. If the amount of fabric you buy is the fabric you show us on your blog then you’re not buying that much fabric. The thing about you buying fabric is that you actually use it in the quilts you make, which erm…is more than I’ve been doing. LOL, I just finished buying five fat quarters that were on sale. I have no clue how I’m going to use these but hey they were on sale and I just had to.

    I don’t spend any money on myself aside from my craft purchases. Once a year I buy a pair of shoes and probably every two years I might make some clothes purchases. I very rarely buy anything in the way of furnishings – we’ve had the same couch and chairs for years and as far as redecorating the house every two years, well it doesn’t happen. So while someone might think I spend too much on my craft stuff I could probably point out that “they” over-all spend far more money.

    Karen

  3. I had seen that before, but it was a good reminder to be grateful for the things we have, and how blessed we are. Sometimes, we just need a little wake up call.

  4. Hi Cath,
    If buying fabric makes you happy, then buy it…I do!
    Some people like to buy shoes or handbags, to each her own.
    At least you do make beautiful cuddly quilts with the fabric, that the family enjoy.
    Hugs

  5. heh heh if you have to give up buying fat quarters, then I’ll have to send you some.

    So pleased you are back online. Did you get my eamil?

    cheers Maureen

Thank you for leaving a comment. I love to read your thoughts on my posts and I do try to respond, sometimes though life gets in the way.

