I’m on a Roll

Just cause Ashley was up at 6 am to go to a job in Kerang (about 40 mins away) I thought I should be a good wife and get up too.  Darn it’s hard when it’s still dark outside.  Actually I had an ulterior motive – I wanted to do some baking for the weekend and the prospect of getting an early start on it was too good to be true…vbg.  By 8.30 I had made a loaf of bread – well the bread maker made it, but I did have to put in the ingredients and turn it on – two batches of biscuits and a slice.  Not bad in between putting out washing and getting kids to school and getting the house semi tidied.

I have just finished cutting the Block of the Day up to May 11 which was my cut off date/block.  I figured if I could get all of them done until then that gave me a month after my op to rest.  Guess who’s doing the happy dance!! I still have to sew them and there are three applique blocks to do as well – but I will tackle them slowly over the next couple of weeks while the kids are on holidays.  Nicola might even be nice and trace out the shapes for me so I can save some time and keep her occupied.  There is still March’s Baltimore block as well to do but it can wait.  It’s a nice simple one so if I get time to do it – great – if I don’t it doesn’t matter.  I’m not stressing on that.

My first of the Elm Creek Quilts books I ordered arrived yesterday – it’s sooooooo tempting to start reading it but I’m going to be strong and wait until after the op.  The next one won’t arrive until early April as it is the latest release and doesn’t come out until April so there is no temptation there…vbg.

I have been looking at on line fabric shops but can’t make up my mind on what I want so that will have to wait too.  I know I said that I wouldn’t buy more fabric but I honestly don’t think I have enough to do the full years worth of blocks…….funny about that.  I’m am committed to using up what I have first though before I start on any new fabric.  I also have bulging boxes full of 3.5, 2.5, 2 and 1.5 inch strips plus a really nice pile of 2.5 inch squares that I can use for some scrap quilts, plus there is still Elise’s Home Circle quilt to work on.  The fabric is cut now just to sew them into blocks and then into a quilt top.

Right off to put the kettle on and wait for Ashley to come home for lunch.  He has finished in Kerang early and is treating me to a “bought” lunch – yum.  I might even treat myself and have a little nanna nap this afternoon.  At least it’s turned cool – well cooler than it has been which is a blessed relief.

Have a lovely day.

2 thoughts on “I’m on a Roll

  1. I think out of all the Australian sayings the one that tickles my fancy the best and is so descriptive is the nanna nap. 🙂

    Sounds like you had a productive day yesterday, unfortunately I didn’t so I’ll have to use your blog for some inspiration today and try to accomplish something. I have a pile of boxes of material scraps to go through so maybe that’s what I’ll be doing today.

    Karen

  2. I had to write to say that reading your blog has really perked up my day. At work and having a dinner break since we work so many hours this time of year. Your conversation was just the thing I needed to get my mind back to reality — quilting, fabrics and reading about quilting. haha
    Wanted to suggest you check out McCalls Quilting magazine. They had a cute wallhanging that would use a variety of your 2.5 blocks. Its appliqued squares on a muslin/white background with 2 or 3 applique flowers vertically spaced down the lower left.
    If you’re interested, let me know and I’d be happy to scan it for you. Shouldn’t be any copyright concerns since they sent it to me as a freebie in a subscription offer the other day. [After I bought the entire mag a few months ago just to get this pattern! lol]
    Well, I’m off to read a bit more and browse the remainder of Sharon’s suggested C blogs. lol

Thank you for leaving a comment. I love to read your thoughts on my posts and I do try to respond, sometimes though life gets in the way.

