Why I Read Blogs

Have you ever wondered just why you read blogs?

Is it because you are seeking like minded souls.  Seeking inspiration.  Seeking and finding new friendships. Just plain seeking.

I have been cruising blog land of late.  Not for any particular reason – just following links from one blog to another and have found many fascinating blogs and I have to admit most are craft related.

I just love looking at the bright and funky fabrics are using in their crafting endeavours. I love reading about how others juggle their  precious time and families  in order to create works of great beauty.

I love reading just why they did what they did and how they did it.

I particularly like reading (at the moment) about the Melbourne Stitches and Craft show as I was – yet again – unable to go.  Next year I promise myself.   It is fascinating to see and read about what people liked and saw.

There are times I admit to feeling a little isolated in my crafting world.  My friends don’t do “craft” and when others ask what I do and I say “sew” I am left with the feeling that somehow my life isn’t all that interesting.  That maybe I should be doing something of more importance.  What is “important” I have yet to find out.

So I read blogs. I find like minded souls, that while they may never know that I have visited, they have inspired me and even  comforted me in feeling that I’m not alone in this world.  So thank you.  To each and every person who blogs.  Thank you for sharing your time, your endeavours, your feelings and your creativity.

As to what people think about my blogging………roflmol….that’s a whole other story.

4 thoughts on “Why I Read Blogs

  1. g’day
    I read blogs cause I am a sticky beak.. I just had a post on my blog called ” I am a blog whore”.. and I think I summed it up like you did!

    take care and quilty huggers to you

    Lissa
    PS my friends think I am nuts about my blogging, but hey, I am nuts and I dont care!

  2. I think you summed it up perfectly. I love the inspiration, introduction to new materials and techniques and finding people that share my passion. I have sewing friends here but I can find someone on a blog that is into the “same space” as me at any point of time. My family and friends all think I am nuts to blog and read blogs – but they read mine regularly anyway!

  3. Very good insight Catherine, I can’t find anything I disagree with and lots of good points that strike home with me.

    I think one of the main reasons I read blogs is the new worlds, new friendships aspect of it. I love being inspired by others but reading about new techniques isn’t what turns me on so to speak. It’s more the everyday living of my bloggers their life and family and how they fit their crafting (or whatever) into their day. As you say it’s like-minded people coming together and finding out that we’re not so different after all.

    Karen

  4. Hi Catherine, Just following links from In a Minute ago and found your blog. I love how you summed up the reading of blogs. I have joined the local embroiderer’s group to find like minded sewers and we are currently in the process of setting up our textile group.
    I went to AQS this year for the first time and have blogged about it here:http://carlseapatch.wordpress.com
    Downunderdale also blogged and although the quilts on display were stupendous I think it will be much better next year in a biggger venue
    Cheers
    Jo

Thank you for leaving a comment. I love to read your thoughts on my posts and I do try to respond, sometimes though life gets in the way.

