A Tiny Bit of Maths

Using my fingers and toes, and not that crappy calculator Elise has for maths that I couldn’t even work out 60% of $2500 for a recent maths problem I was helping her with…..big breath…..I have worked out that if I use 20 blocks (from the block a day blocks I’m making) in each quilt adding sashing and whatever else I need to to make the blocks work together I will have eighteen quilts at the end of this challenge.

Good Grief  18 Quilts 

The mind – or at least my mind – boggles.  Now I’m not even going down the road of working out just how big each quilt would be when you consider that the blocks are ranging from 6 inches to 18 inches finished size and I have this very strong feeling that I would like to mix up block sizes when I start putting them all together.

Having now confused my brain and no doubt astounded some of you – you can blame it all on Karin  who left this comment on one of my Block a Day posts…

“Just had a look at all of the blocks and it boggles the mind so I did a bit of math on them just to see how many quilts you can make out of all of those blocks at the end of the year and came to the conclusion that it all depends on how you put them together and whether or not you use sashings but any way you look at it you’re going to be a busy girl. Hmm…maybe you can let the girls (and your son if he’s so inclined) do a school yard pick on them and they can have a go at making their own quilts.”

Nice one Karin – it’s all your fault I can’t sleep trying to work out how many quilts I will get….roflmol.  Actually while you’re cruising the blogs Dear Readers – do check out Karin’s.  She has been doing some amazing dyeing using snow and I’m impressed. Now just to pack my bags and pop over and visit her while she still has snow so I can play too.  Somehow I don’t think we are going to get anything like snow or rain or even a bit of cloud cover.  It’s at least 43 degrees (think very, very hot) and it feels humid although there is no sign of any rain coming.

Ok off to sew some more blocks so I can make those 18 quilts.  I hope your weekend is a good one.

3 thoughts on “A Tiny Bit of Maths

  1. I was wondering myself what size those blcoks were. I thought they were small and all going into one quilt. 18 –Wow!

    You could make 3 king sized. I use 100, 10-inch blocks for a king (no sashing, just a border before the drop).

    How about making table runners for Christmas gifts? Hope you have a lot of people on your gift list! LOL.

    It will be interesting to see what you end up doing with them.

  2. LOL, always willing to help…

    I was going to order one of these block a day calendars for myself for next year until I did the math. I think instead I’ll buy one of those that at the end of the 12 months you end up with ONE quilt 🙂

Thank you for leaving a comment. I love to read your thoughts on my posts and I do try to respond, sometimes though life gets in the way.

