Block of The Day

I feel like I have been missing in action for a while – but honest I’m here – just busy. Incredibly busy!!!

The weather is foul – hot, strong winds and the days that are a bit cloudy are still hot. I loathe this kind of weather. So much for thinking that the worst of summer is past us. The air conditioner doesn’t even turn off at night lately. I think we are getting the bit that Mother Nature thought we missed out on. One thing at least – it’s brilliant weather for sewing….vbg.

I have been working hard on getting all my Block of the Day done up to May 11. That will give me one month from the date of my operation to relax and rest and I’m soooooo looking forward to it. As always the blocks are in my flickr album for those who want to have a look.

March 19 was an easy block and visually stunning. I could see this in a quilt.

Along with March 13…

and I can see just two of the tulips from March 12 being used in a border – although maybe a plainer fabric for the background might be better…vbg.
I’m sure I have said this before and I will say it again. Quarter square and half square triangles hold no fears for me now. I am well and truly into the swing of making them. Another thing I have discovered – and it may beem realy obvious to those of you who are experienced quilters – is that no matter how hard the block looks – break it down to it’s individual components (ie each smaller block within a block) and work on one section at a time – and they all become incredibly easy.
Mind you that hasn’t stopped me spending some time ripping out my mistakes….groan.
Can I say a huge Thank You to all those lovely people who have left comments or emailed regarding my surgery date. Your support means so much. I am nervous about the surgery, but considering how bad my hands are (the pins and needles are back again at night) I can’t wait for it. Ohh and Karin thanks for the advice on taking it easy just before surgery so my wrists aren’t imflammed. I am going to do that. Goodness a month long holiday – how pampered will I be….vbg.
EEEKKK nearly forgot to show you just how much my stash is reducing while making these blocks.
These boxes (which hold six reams of A4 copy paper in each) were pretty full – not over flowing but certainly healthy when it came to being insulated with fat quarters. Not any more.  I know it looks like there is a bit there – but trust me – lots of it are just scraps.  I am also working my way through the hand dyed fabric which has been sitting for quite a while.   I’m also cutting strips in 1.5, 2, 2.5 and 3.5 inch widths from anything that isn’t big enough to be used for these blocks.  I want to make some more of Bonnie’s quilts.  (You can find links to her fabulous patterns and the Carolina Crossroads mystery in the side bar).  All new fabric (that I occasionally buy….shhh don’t tell anyone…..vbg) is being put away unwashed in the back of the cupboard.  It’s my reward for using up all my old stash.
2 thoughts on “Block of The Day

  1. Calidore,
    I, too, LOVE the bright colors in the March block. I am really into those bright colors the past couple of years.

    I am glad you have your date for surgery. I think I was off work for 3 weeks when I had my hand done. It was great! Hmmmmmm…..maybe I should think about getting the second hand done….LOL.

    Enjoy your little vacation…there will be pains shooting across your hand now and then as it heals, but it’s nothing you can’t handle. Just act like it’s worse than it really is, so you can be totally pampered….of course, if you are having both hands done at the same time, then I guess you really will need to be totally pampered!

    I am sure you will be thrilled once it’s all healed and you don’t have that terrible pain anymore.

Thank you for leaving a comment. I love to read your thoughts on my posts and I do try to respond, sometimes though life gets in the way.

