I have a Surgery Date

Guess who’s doing the happy dance today…….finally a letter arrived from the hospital telling me what date my carpel tunnel surgery will be.

Friday 11th April 2008 

Can you tell I’m happy….vbg.  It works out so well with everything we have on.

It’s after Easter which is when we spend three or four days (depending on how hard we work) cutting wood for our winter fires.

It’s a weekend which means I will have three willing children and a husband to pitch in and help around the house while I rest.

It’s after the holidays which means I can (after recovering from cutting all that wood) get the house sorted, baking etc done and be orangised and ready for surgery and my time recovering.

Ohh who am I kidding?  You know me – I will be running around like a demented rabbit trying to do everything at once as always.

My first instinct (after getting down from the table top where I was dancing – not a pretty sight I can assure you) is to rush around madly trying to sort out the garden, sewing and baking…..but I’m not going to.  I’m going to do this in a controlled manner. I will do what I can, when I can.

I guess the nicest part of all this , apart from the fact I will be soon pain free,  is I treated myself yesterday and bought/pre ordered the latest Elm Creek Quilts novel by Jennifer Chiaverini “The Winding Ways Quilt” which isn’t due for release until April so I should get it either just before surgery or just after.  I am also bidding on another of her books “The Quilters Homecoming” which crossing fingers and toes I will win and it will be here before the surgery date.  Can’t wait.  Has any one read “The Quilters Homecoming”?  Was it any good?  See how organised I am – there can be nothing nicer than curling up with a good book or two and resting – hot cuppa on the table beside me and maybe some chocolate biscuits to nibble on. Note to self – buy some chocolate biscuits and hide them so the family doesn’t find them….wicked grin.

Right off to hang out washing then do some more machine satin stitch on February’s Baltimore Quilt block.  I’m so behind on them.  March’s pattern has been printed and I haven’t even looked at it.

5 thoughts on “I have a Surgery Date

  1. The thought occurs to me – this not knowing anything about carpel tunnel syndrome – that perhaps instead of running around like a mad hatter trying to set everything in order (we know you’re going to try) that perhaps you should spend the three or four days before surgery resting.

    The reason I’m wondering and you might want to inquire of your doctor, is that I believe the surgery is quite delicate and it might go easier and be more successful if you don’t aggravate your wrists and get them swollen and inflamed before you go in. I could be really wrong about this but thought I’d put it out there just in case.

    Karen

  2. Will be sending lots of best wishes to you for a successful surgery. My DH is going for nerve testing next week to determine if he needs carpal tunnel surgery or not when they remove the cyst from the inside of his wrist. It will be another 2 weeks before we go back to the surgeon for the test results and scheduling. Do get your rest and best wishes.

    Barb Mcf

  3. Calidore – so Saturday 12 April will be ‘the first day of the rest of your life – pain free’. Let’s hope so anyway. I hope everything goes well with the operations, your recovery, and everything you plan to do beforehand…lol.

  4. It is funny when the idea of an enforced break is in some ways quite exciting! I am the same, don’t give in until they make you!!! Then enjoy it.
    My hands haven’t been just too bad lately, the surgery path scares me, but just because I hate nedles etc. Love your block of the day, I have a similar calendar myself.
    The quilted gecko vest was well done…and I have abrother who would kill for that tardis! Tracey

Thank you for leaving a comment. I love to read your thoughts on my posts and I do try to respond, sometimes though life gets in the way.

