Block a Day – Jan 1 to 6

I was given a calender featuring a patchwork block a day for my birthday – and in a fit of thinking I needed another project to do ….yeah right……I decided to try to make a block a day.  The calender comes with  rotary cutting  instructions, templates etc so it’s not like I have to work out how to make each block then make it – I just follow the directions….vbg.

Janaury 1

I’m  not sure if I will manange to make one block every day for the rest of the year – but I am determind to try.  If nothing else I will be able to make the blocks up into scrap quilts and what better way to celebrate my 40th year than to play with fabric on a daily basis.

January 2 Hand Appliqued

January 3 Machine Appliqued

January 4

January 5

January 6

I’m not even going to try to make them in co ordinating fabrics – simply because I don’t have enough fabric to do that nor do I want to buy any more fabric.  I am finding these are a fantastic way to use up the smaller scraps I have.  I am also working on the theory that I will instinctively choose fabrics that are my favorites and that they should (fingers and toes crossed) all work together in the final outcome of the quilts they will be sewn into.  It is also a tremendous way to experiment with new patterns.  For example the hand applique.  I have buttonholed around applique before, but not tried it with the raw edges turned under and hand sewn down.   It actually wasn’t too bad. I’m not sure I would do a whole quilt that way – but for smaller projects it was very enjoyable.

Now considering that already it is January 25 I am a bit behind – but I’m not panicing.  I haven’t set a deadline of finishing up the last block on 31 December 2008 – but I do want to finish near then. Some blocks are so fast I can get them done in a hour or less, others take much more time and I am looking forward to being able to do some hand sewing on some in the car while I wait for the children to come out of school.

Time will tell if all this works the way I am planning or for that matter if I have the staying power.

4 thoughts on “Block a Day – Jan 1 to 6

  1. oh Catherine
    these are so beautiful!! and I can see although you dont think you are colour matching you are!! Well I thinks so – have another look – theres purple and the prints and that glorious red/ pink (carmine red I think) thats appearing- girl its soooooooo pretty I love it
    love n hugs bear xoxoxoxoxoxox

  2. How ambitious! And fun, too! I got one of these calendars, too, and it’s very different from yours….but it never occurred to me to do a block a day. No imagination, I guess!

    Have fun….I think you’ll end up with a great quilt or maybe even two!

  3. Wow, I’m impressed very nice. I love the purple and brown one I don’t think I’ve seen one like that before. What a neat idea, I’ll have to look for one of those calendars next year.

Thank you for leaving a comment. I love to read your thoughts on my posts and I do try to respond, sometimes though life gets in the way.

