Finished Projects in Time for 2008

Well maybe I’m starting the year off on a good note, but I did actually finish some projects (one just in the nick of time) last night to round off 2007.

To motivate myself, and to give you some eye candy – bleary eyed though it might be from last night’s revels to bring in the New Year – I thought I should start the year off on a good note and post photos.

This was the Jolly Jingle Table Runner that Quilted Table had for it’s January Table Runner of The Month project. It is surprisingly easy even with those small peices and I had it put together within a few hours – spread over a couple of days as I kept being interrupted. Next time I will use more controlled colours I think. I should add Ifinsihed sewing on the binding at 11.26 pm – just in time for New Year. I even wrote the date and time on the back – just so I would know in future years….lol.

Ohh did I tell you I joined a new group..vbg. Quilted Table is a yahoo group that is designed to help those of us with huge stashes (not looking at myself at all….lol) to reduce it by making smaller projects – one per month – which will hopefully work in extremely well with the projects I have planned. Projects I will not mention in this post incase I scare you all off…..lol.

Another Place mat made. You know what I’m like about using all the little bits and pieces I have lying around – well this was made out of the left overs (with a few additions) from Mum’s Table Runner (the not quite completed one shown below). Another quick and easy project and in colours I love.

I also worked hard on my “Out on a String” Quilt – pattern courtesy of Bonnie Hunter’s Quiltville site. I think I should call this one “Out on a Limb” as it required “Y” seams (which I hadn’t done before) and an unusual setting – yes I followed Bonnies design – just to try something different. I have to admit – I like it…..funny about that…vbg. Ohh and yes they are buttons you can see in the middle of each star. I was worried that the stars would really move and pucker if I stipple quilted them – so I just sewed around the inside edge of each star on my Janome (the rest is done on the gammill) and then sewed a button on to hold down the middle of the star. Cheating I know – but hey – it’s my quilt!!

Do check out Bonnie’s magnificent patterns. They are so easy to follow and you end up with a fantastic quilt at the end of it – all out of scraps.

Just to show that I do use everything……..including a woolen blanket for the batting……this is the back of “Out on A String”

I made a heap of “Mile a Minute Blocks” one day all out of the strange little offcuts I seem to always have and decided that these blocks would be perfect as the backing for “Out on a String”. Each block is 10 inches (finished size) which makes them big enough to easy cover a quilt back and quick to make. You can find a tutorial for Mile a Minute blocks here. Ohh and others call them Crumb Chaos Blocks – either way they are great for using up the scraps.

13 thoughts on “Finished Projects in Time for 2008

  1. Love the colours in the Jolly Jingle table runner and like every other quilted piece here, it is fabulous. I just may have to subscribe to lower some of my stash. Not that I could keep up with you.

    Well done Catherine.

  2. love those stars! I have to try that even though I hate sewing Y seams 🙂
    it is just a great quilt so worth the effort!
    the buttons are perfect I have used them too (to hide where all the machine quilting met)!
    Kathie

  3. Wow, you had a busy end to 2007!

    Everything looks great. I especially like how creative you were with that backing. It is perfect for that quilt.

    I, too, have decided to make smaller projects in ’08. I am big into table runners right now. Before long I will have runners to match every set of dishes I have.

    I am enjoying being able to finish these smaller projects so fast.

  4. Hi Catherine,
    Love all your quilting.
    I have chosen you for the “You Make Me Smile” award.
    I know you are a very busy girl, but you really do make me smile…
    The awards rules are to“Give the award to up to 10 people whose blogs bring you happiness and inspiration and make you feel so happy about blogland!
    Let them know by posting a comment on their blog so that they can pass it on. Beware! You may get the award several times!
    Hugs Julia

  5. Pingback: Crumb Chaos / Quilting Gallery

Thank you for leaving a comment. I love to read your thoughts on my posts and I do try to respond, sometimes though life gets in the way.

