Mystery Quilt 9 Patches

I confess I was starting to worry that I wouldn’t have these 9 patches made by Thursday all ready to start the next clue in the mystery quilt – but today I’ve made all one hundred.  As you can imagine I’m doing the Happy Dance…vbg.  Ohh and there is no pressure for me to have them done by Thursday – just the pressure I’m putting on myself…groan.  As always you can check out the clues to the mystery quilt here.

They are now stacked in the ice cream container, with the rail fence blocks nicely pinned together in groups of ten.

Just to make my day a little brighter my order from OzQuilts arrived this morning.  I had ordered from the EZ Quilts range some rulers – an Easy Angle 6 1/2 inch, a Companion Angle, an Easy Eight – ideal for cutting diamond shapes for 8 pointed stars and an Easy Circle Cut – which cuts circles easily up to 10 inches finished size.   Now to find time to use them all.

I also ordered a Mertelli Ergo 200 Rotary Cutter which is designed to help when you have carpel tunnel syndrome, sore shoulders and hands etc.  Maree told me when I was asking about it (prior to ordering it) – that having used the “standard” cutters for years I might take some time to get used to the rather different shape of it and the way it’s held in your hand.

Not so.  I have to say I have taken to it like a duck to water.  It’s brilliant with no strain on my hand at all and it feels “right” to use if you know what I mean.  Best of all I can sit down to cut which is better for my legs and back in the end.  Check out the OzQuilts website for more information on these cutters.  I can’t recommend them highly enough and I have only been using mine for a few hours, but with none of the shoulder strain that I usually feel.  No affils and all that I might add, just a great product.  They also take standard 45 mm blades which is good.

Thank you also to those who commented on my Mystery Quilt Dilemma.  I still can’t make up my mind which blue to use – but I am leaning towards the darker blue – more for the impact than anything else.  I will make up my mind later – when I have more time.

I appreciate all the lovely comments I receive and I am very grateful to have made so many wonderful friends though this blog.  Thank you all – you make my day.

3 thoughts on “Mystery Quilt 9 Patches

  1. Your nine patches are wonderful. I can’t wait to see the outcome of all the steps with your colors. I think that’s one of the best things about having so many people doing the same pattern. Enjoy.

  2. Well done Cath,
    I’ve still to do my 9 patches. good thing we are a day ahead of the states, gives me extra time!
    The rulers look great, and that cutter looks really good, must check that out.
    Your quilt is going to be lovely.
    Julia

Thank you for leaving a comment. I love to read your thoughts on my posts and I do try to respond, sometimes though life gets in the way.

