Sewing Machines

As promised finally I have found time to post the photos of the sewing machines that I purchased at the Swap Meet. It seems like months ago – but reality is it is only a few days.

A 1947 Singer Sewing Machine.

I love the front plate on this. So complicated but stunning at the same time. I honestly think these plates are why I fell in love with these machines in the first plate. They are not only a functional piece of equipment but are decorative as well.

We couldn’t work out where the foot control was and at first thought that it was missing. Then Ashley found this strange metal piece in the box and it is a knee control. “Cool” said Elise “I like that idea.” So do I darling and you can use it if it means you will sew and create.

Ashley plugged in the machine and it went first time. Even the light worked. I was bracing myself for something to blow up or the fuses in the house to explode but nothing happened. Yes I know – me of little faith….vbg.

Look at the price tag. The only reason we think it was so cheap was that maybe the seller didn’t realise you had to use the knee control and it didn’t have a foot control. Which is strange as he had heaps of antique and vintage stuff on his stall. Never mind I’m not arguing.

This is the other machine I bought. A 1927 Hand Operated Singer Sewing machine. I have wanted one for ages as I can remember my Grandmother sewing on hers. Well now I have two of these machines. Mum and my sister had a big discussion about Grandma’s machine (which has been stored in Mum’s shed for years) and came to the conclusion that I can be Guardian to Grandma’s sewing machine. Photos of it soon. It is very similar to this and sews beautifully even after all these years. Another link to my past to treasure.

I just love the oak leaf pattern on this front plate. Why on earth do we put up with those sterile looking machines when you can have a work of art like this.

I might add – none of these machines (or in fact any of the singers I have) are in pristine condition. I know that those machines which are fetch a higher price but to be honest I love the fact these are a bit battered and well used. It makes me wonder just who sewed on them. Was a a Mum To Be sewing baby clothes for her soon to be born child? Was it a Mum struggling in the depression to cloth her children at all? Was it a rich woman who had her servants sew or was it a struggling woman making ends meet with her sewing skills? It’s a pity these machines can’t talk – imagine the tales they would tell.

3 thoughts on “Sewing Machines

  1. I love your post. I love and own vintage machines as well. They are so beautiful and they are useful as well. Much prettier than my new machine.

Thank you for leaving a comment. I love to read your thoughts on my posts and I do try to respond, sometimes though life gets in the way.

