My Sewing Machine is Sick

Darn it all, I was on a roll and I mean a real roll. I spent a couple of hours this afternoon whipping up squares and blocks into cushion covers. I had made a quilt using the same pattern and loved it – so incredibly quick and easy and decided to resize the blocks to use up the left over fabrics and make some more cushions for the lounge room.

Literally two hours from start to finish I had the patchworked part of three cushions cut and sewn ready to quilt. My machine started to play up a bit – the top thread kept looping on the bottom. I changed needles and it was fine.

After tea I decided I would quilt them and then trouble struck. I have spent the past hour pulling my machine apart (all the bits I’m game to which ended up being quite a bit) and cleaning it thoroughly – not that it needed it as it wasn’t that long since I last did it. Reoiled all the bits I thought needed oiling (another job that may not have been necessary, but I did it anyway) and tried again. The problem is worse…..ARRRRRRRRR!!!!!!!! More top thread than ever is looping to the bottom.

I have tried – completely rethreading both the machine and bobbin, changing the needle, changing the thread, fiddling with the tension, cleaning the machine and swearing a lot under my breath. Ashley then got in on the act and fiddled around a bit more – but no luck there at all either. So the end result is that the machine will have to go in for a service which could cost me $80 or more. Money I loathe spending, but will have to if I want to keep the machine in running order. I worked out that it has to be 12 years old and has done heaps and heaps of work – so I guess to play up now is acceptable – not! It’s a Janome Memory Craft 4000 and I cannot even find it listed on the Janome sites I found on the net. Obviously another machine gone by the way side.

Hopefully tomorrow the Elna I bought off ebay will be here and I will be able to continue sewing. I bought another machine as it is one of the old solid metal ones, with the largest base area I have ever seen. I mainly want it for machine embroidery – I think it will handle it better than my Janome which didn’t seem to appreciate it all that much. If the Elna doesn’t arrive I will have to resort to the old Singer Sewing machine the girls use.

I should note that I’m not particuarly into brand name dropping. I only bought the Janome cause that was the only sewing machine dealer we had in town at the time. How’s that for small town living. Now I think there are a couple of places that sell sewing machines of different brands – not that I want one of the more modern machines. Mum bought a very basic Janome (yep that name keeps cropping up) and it’s useless. So light and flimsy and really not worth the money. Hopefully this Elna will live up to my expectations.

Maybe I should be looking for a treadle or hand operated Singer Sewing Machine. At least I know they have stood the test of time.

6 thoughts on “My Sewing Machine is Sick

  1. How much is your machine worth? Is it worth the money spent fixing it or is that money better spent on another machine?

    I’ve had similar problems but usually it involved the bobbin case tension or the tension knob. I’ve done the same as you and cleaned the machine and that helps. My machine is an old kenmore, 28 years old. It’s fairly simple but I have to be careful when putting the tension knob back together properly or I get those big loopy threads.

    I bought a new machine a couple of years ago and took it back the next day. It was a piece of junk whereas the old machine is solid metal. Sometimes the older machines are easier to look after but I have to admit I do yearn sometimes for a newer one with all of the fancy stitches. 🙂

  2. Sorry you’re having machine troubles – so very frustrating, especially as you’ve already done practically everything the serviceman will do (thoroughly cleaned it) but just haven’t fixed the problem.

    I have two Elna machines. The 38 year-old mechanical one is still a far better machine than the 15 year-old electronic one, and I use it all the time.

    We had a long chat with a sewing machine retailer in Taree last year. He said that virtually all machines are now made in the Janome factory under licence to various names, ie. Elna are no longer made in Switzerland; they’re made in Taiwan, along with most other brands.

    I hope you’re Elna arrives today and works perfectly, and that all your machine problems will soon be repaired.

  3. mmmmm.My trusty Janome (bought in 1989) had a hissy fit and devoured the spool holders on top.
    When my dealer told me it would be $99 for a servicePLUS parts and labour to replace the bits,I spat the dummy big time.
    Don’t laugh,but I bought a new MC3500
    AND replacement parts for the 6500.
    The parts cost about $6.
    I’ve since done surgery and replaced the spindles,bases,split pins and will keep using old girl for maily FnF postcards with a Timtex foundation.
    The 3500 is sooooooooo quiet you wonder if it’s working.
    BUT….the light is not as good for the sewer as the old one was/is.
    Definitely a design flaw!
    BTW……Janome comes out of Thailand now 😦

  4. I, too, am in the middle of making a quilt, but my Elna 722010 finally quit. It needs a pulley for the motor. Does anyone have one, or does anyone know how to make a new one? Apparently no parts are available. I miss not having my trusty old Elna.

Thank you for leaving a comment. I love to read your thoughts on my posts and I do try to respond, sometimes though life gets in the way.

