Baking with Apples

After fighting off the green lorikeets (small beautifully coloured parrots) which seem to think that my apple tree is actually their smorgasboard – I had a heap of apples that needed stewing straight away. I did a huge tub full, then pulled out my favorite recipes and started baking. These are just two which you might enjoy.

Spicy Raisin Squares

1 1/2 cups self raising flour
1/2 cup castor sugar
1/2 cup brown sugar
125 gram (4 oz) butter – cut into small peices
1/3 cup stewed apple
1 cup raisins or sultanas
2 eggs slightly beated
1 tablespoon milk
1 teaspoon vanilla
1/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/4 teaspoon nutmeg

Preheat oven to 180 degrees C.

Sift flour, add sugars, cut in butter until mix resembles fine crumbs. This part can be done in a food processor. Add raisins/sultanas, apple, eggs, milk and vanilla, cinnamon and nutmeg. Mix well and pout into 22 cm square cake pan. Bake approx 25 mins or until cooked.

Ice with butter icing – icing sugar, butter and milk mixed to a firm consistancy.

This is a wonderful slice which freezes very well. I made a double mix the other day, baked it in my enormous cake pan and iced and cut it into four peices and three are now in the freezer. The fourth is rapidly being consumed. If you aren’t into icing the cake is just as nice left plain and spread with butter when sliced.

Spicy Raisin Cake

Plain Biscuits/Apple Cakes

2 cups plain flour
1 teaspoon cream of tartar
1/2 tsp bicarbonate of soda
3/4 cup butter
2 eggs beaten with 3/4 cup of sugar

Sift flour, cream of tartar and bicarb soda together.
Rub butter into flour and mix in beaten eggs and sugar.
Roll out mixture and cut with round biscuit cutter.
Bake oven, 150C, golden brown.

This recipe can also be used to make apple cakes.
Grease cup cake tins and cut rounds for bottom, add stewed apples and cut another round for the top.
Cook until golden brown. Ice bottoms when cold.

This was a recipe that I found in the Weekly Times. The write up on the top of the recipe read: “I am sending in my mother’s favourite recipe. My Grandmother read this recipe in the Weekly Times 65 years ago. She made the biscuits for my mother and now she makes them for me. PC Ballarat”

Apple Cakes

One thought on “Baking with Apples

  1. Delicious looking Catherine, talk about wack the weight on with all these recipes to try out. The cake plate you have is adorable too! thanks for sharing!

Thank you for leaving a comment. I love to read your thoughts on my posts and I do try to respond, sometimes though life gets in the way.

