One of those weeks….

I think I am going to be having one of those weeks. You know the kind, where there are lots of plans and appointments and all you end up doing is changing said plans and appointments and getting no where fast. Throw in three grumpy kids and a Mum who just wants to hide under a rock and it isn’t a happy combination. Good thing Ashley is normal isn’t it….vbg.

It has taken me a week to get an appointment with my Doctor. That is he was booked up totally until today so I grabbed the first appointment the receptionist offered me when I phoned her last week. (Confused yet? I am.) Two hours later Ashley came home and said we had to see the accountant – guess when the appointment for then was. Yep – you guessed it the same date and time as my Doctors appointment. So now I well see the Doctor tomorrow and I’m really not looking forward to it. You see I think I have a skin cancer on my face that needs to be removed and since I’m definately not good with needles and the idea of someone using a scalpel on my face is even worse – tomorrow is not being looked forward to. The Doctor had looked at it a few weeks ago and said to let it try and heal first incase it was something else, but it hasn’t healed, so now I must go and face the moment of judgement.

Today’s appointment with the accountant was frustrating to say the least. After all these years Ashley’s Dad looks like retiring (I say “looks like” cause anything could happen yet) and we are supposed to take over the business. Well shall we just say I was not impressed with the accountant they have employed over the years (doddering old fool would be an apt description). The idea was the appointment would be a round table discussion between all parties to decide on the best method to change over the business. Hmmmmm – try a very one sided discussion on what was best for them and not us. As a result we have been to see an accountant (actually his secretary whom we are very good friends with) and she has advised us what we need to do first (regarding paperwork etc) and we will then go to see her boss and sort out our position.

On the sewing front (which is a far more pleasant subject) I have another shirt completely finished (actually I wore it to the accountants just to make me feel good – and boy did it….lol). This clothes making business is starting to look pretty darned good. I haven’t done any more on the gather blocks, but my sewing room is newly organised and rearranged which always gives a fresh perspective on any creative endeavours. Actually it just means I can find things again….roflol.

We are supposed to be going to Bendigo in the holidays (middle weekend) to do some shopping and to have a day out. The kids need clothes and shoes desperately and I want to check out Spotlight for fabric to make them some clothes as well – but now Ashley has to work (all of that weekend – and as they are very good clients we can’t put them off) so I’m not sure what we will do. Mum has offered to come with me if we want to go anyway and leave Ashley home to work. The other alternative is he takes Friday off and we go then. Decisons, decisions.

Plus the really exciting news is that Ashley and I are having a weekend to ourselves at the beginning of October. To Bendigo again – but it will be three days childless where we can eat where we like and when we like, see the things we want to and just spend some time together.

I hope your week is a good one.

6 thoughts on “One of those weeks….

  1. Doctor’s, accountants, business…UGH!
    Sewing – good :))

    I hope the rest of the week goes well for you Catherine, and I’m keeping my fingers crossed for your doc’s appt.

    Much love xxx

  2. Catherine – I’ve only just read your post so by now you will have been to the doctor. I do hope everything went well and it wasn’t as serious as feared.

    Stick to your guns and don’t be railroaded into anything to do with the business that you don’t want. All the best on that issue, too.

    Good luck with the all the shopping, both with and without children.

  3. Thanks girls. Update on Doctors visit – wait a hour and a half then be told I have to have the skin cancer cut out – yuck!!!! Not until the 28th Sept. though so I have time to shop – yipee – and hopefully my face will look fairly normal for our weekend away. The sore is quite small and the Doc tells me it won’t be a big deal. Hmmmm might debate him on that one. Good news is another shirt is cut out and hopefully will be sewn tomorrow.

  4. I’m so sorry to hear about your crazy week – especially with the doctor and all the stress that entails (I am not a fan of the doctor either!).

    Good luck with it all, I’ll be keeping everything crossed for you!

    Now, on to the real issue… When do we get pictures of these marvellous creations?!?! 🙂

    Take care!

  5. Sounds like a fashion parade in the making. How about it, Catherine? You could model those lovely shirts for us – okay, the photographer could remove your head if that would make you feel more comfortable … lol.

    Many times friends have had skin cancers removed from their face and I can never tell where they’ve been. I’m sure yours will be just as invisible.

    Glad you can still fit in the shopping trip … the important things in life…lol.

  6. Don’t you dare let ANYTHING interferre with your weekend away!!You both need some “you/couple” time badly.
    Glad to hear your dressmaking is going well……
    Having had “bits” removed from my face,I cam empathise with you.But the anticipation is generally worse than actual.
    Good luck tomorrow…is Ashley going to hold your hand? 🙂

Thank you for leaving a comment. I love to read your thoughts on my posts and I do try to respond, sometimes though life gets in the way.

