Thanks

Hi All

Thank you so much for your lovely comments, prayers and support of both Elise and myself over the past few days. It has meant so much to both of us that we have friends out there who are concerned about us.

The good news is Elise is back at school. Today is her second day back and the only text messages I have had is asking for help with an assignment – more on that shortly. Yesterday there were one or two messages saying she felt ill, but on the whole she coped very well. Until she came home that is and showed me the amount of homework that she is expected to have completed by the end of next week. These are all assignments that the other students have already had a week or two to work on. Now Elise is expected to hand them in at the same time as the others. She was starting to drown under a rising tide of panic and I must admit I wasn’t far behind.

In desperation at 6 pm last night I rang Ashley’s cousin who as it happens is also Elise’s home group teacher. Jodi was wonderful and had already put in place plans to speak to Elise’s teachers and sort out the homework requirements and to explain to them just how ill Elise had been. Apparently Elise should have received modified assignments instead of the full assignments as a concession to her being away. So I have left the problem in Jodi’s capable hands and she is sorting it out. We were both worried that had the situation been left as it was, Elise would just panic completely and not go back to school at all – not a situation that anyone wants.

Today’s assignment woes are concerned with her Indonesian class. Apparently Elise and her partner can’t find the information that they need. They have tried asking the teacher for help, but he is the sort who walks into class, hands out the assignment then walks out not to be seen again for the rest of the lesson…….and then he complains that no one seems interested in his class. Well I wonder why!!! Yes for those wondering I have complained to Jodi about it. She said that she had heard similar stories from others and wasn’t surprised. Thank heavens Elise doesn’t want to do Indo. next year. I can’t really blame her. I can’t wait for parent teacher interviews which are coming up in October. Although this is also the teacher who couldn’t be bothered turning up for the last lot, which leads me to wonder why he even bothers to teach at all. If an adult cannot be enthusiatic in learning and trying new things, why should the children be?

Having finally settled down myself today I have spent some time baking this morning, watering different parts of the garden and am in the process of making a soft toy in the shape of a cat for friends who are expecting their first bundle of joy any day. It has been lovely and relaxing and the nerves and the concerns with Elise’s health are settling slowly. Next week I am on camp with Nicola for three days starting on Monday. It should be interesting to say the least. We are going to the Little Desert (a couple of hours from here) and staying at a camp there. Lots of daily acivities and night walks checking out the noctournal animals etc. I just hope it isn’t frosty at night as apparently the cabins we are staying in aren’t heated…..brrrrrrrrr. Hopefully I will come home with heaps of photos to show you.

I should take the oppoutunity to thank everyone who visits my blog – wether you are a regular reader or just a first time visitor – thanks for dropping by. Imagine my surprise when I noticed I had over 20,000 hits on my blog.

Thank you also to all those lovely people who commented on my post card tutorial. I am pleased it made sense to so many and I hope it has inspired many of you to go out and experiment and see what you can come up with.

Hugs to all

Catherine

2 thoughts on “Thanks

  1. I’m so glad she’s feeling better – I hope they find out what’s wrong with her soon (how infuriating!). I’m sure she’ll catch up with all of her schoolwork, and you’ve got a completely reasonable excuse if she does get a lower grade than expected (which I’m sure she won’t). Take care of yourselves 🙂

  2. Hi Catherine ~ I’ve popped in for a visit and just read about poor Elise and all that’s been happening. What can I say?
    Hopefully things get sorted out soon and she continues to feel better.
    You have so much going on, poor woman! Anyway, I’m thinking about you and keeping Elise in my prayers.
    Hugs, Kali xxx

Thank you for leaving a comment. I love to read your thoughts on my posts and I do try to respond, sometimes though life gets in the way.

