Monday Madness – Lemon Pudding

As I drove in today (after my second trip down the street) I noticed that my lemon tree is absolutely loaded with lemons and I thought it might be a good idea to post this recipe again for those who love lemons just as much as I do. Now why it has taken me until today to notice the lemons I don’t know (and I’m not going to ask…lol) but I have and so being the organised person I am (not) here is the best lemon pudding I have tasted. Enjoy.

Lemon Pudding
1 tablespoon butter
1 cup sugar
1 cup milk
juice and rind of 1 lemon (I just use the juice)
2 rounded tablespoons plain flour
2 eggs

Cream butter and sugar (note just mix them well together as there is too much sugar and not enough butter to cream it in the traditional way).

Add flour and yolks of eggs. Beat well.

Add milk and lemon.

Fold in stiffly beathen egg whites then place mixture in pie dish or casserole dish.

Stand pie dish in a baking dish of hot water and bake slowly for at least 40 minutes.
Place in refrigerator to cool completely before eating.

Note: Orange or 4 passionfuit or pineapple may be used instead of lemon.

Extra note: I sometimes use four small ramekins instead of one big dish if I want to individually serve them. If you wanted to make them for a special occassion – cook them in the ramkins, when cool just before serving – dust them with icing sugar and add a dollop of whipped cream.

This is from one of my Grandmothers recipe books – it is as old as I am. Which is really scary when you think about it.

5 thoughts on “Monday Madness – Lemon Pudding

  1. Thanks for sharing that – makes me want to run right out and find some lemons! I am used to having them growing in my yard, but now we have no yard!

  2. I just commented on anothers blog and called them Catherine!!! I am very tired I think… silly girl. That recipe sure gets a going over in my kitchen, thank you. xox

  3. hmmmm, yummy!! this lemon pudding is definitely going to be tried here!
    Lucky I’ve only had a light dinner and no dessert, because I’ve made up for it visiting your lovely blog tonight.
    Thanks so much for sharing and I hope you’re having a really good evening ~ Kali xxx

Thank you for leaving a comment. I love to read your thoughts on my posts and I do try to respond, sometimes though life gets in the way.

