Catherine’s Block – Progress at last

I finally feel like I am making some more progress on this block.

Inspiration, and time, has been in short supply lately. Too many projects and things too do I guess. Yesterday (after all the gardening I had been doing) seemed like a really good time to just sit and sew for a while. The bones were aching and calling for a comfortable chair to relax in.

Catherine's block 2

Now remember this is the block I created after I finished Sharon’s class and it is to see what I have learnt from Sharon. Which I might say at this stage appears to be quite a bit.

This was what it was like originally with just the seams embroidered.
Catherine's block 1

I have added the butterfly in chain stitch and satin stitch and am very pleased with him/her. The lace doiley at the bottom had some dyed ribbons and velour wool threaded through it and one of Chloe’s lovely beaded flowers which was so easy to do, once I read the instructions carefully…lol. To the right of that is a silk ribbon and bead cluster with more velour wool used as buds. I had so much fun dyeing these threads and wools that I really must find some more time to do some soon. Yesterdays effort was the button cluster with more beads trails and single beads. I think it needs more but not quite sure what yet. Still not sure what to do in the plain purple patches at the top centre and right hand side. more thought needs to be done in that area. Everywhere else is fairly heavy so they need to be as well I think to balance the block.

I might manage to get some more stitching done today. From a lovely sunny start to the morning the clouds have rolled in and now it’s quite chilly. I also have Nicola home “sick” with a cold and bad cough. I think it is more tiredness than anything else, but a day in the warm won’t hurt her. James was most upset that Nicci has a day off and he doesn’t, but bribery of a video to watch tomorrow (Anzac Day) worked wonders and he went off happily.

I hope your day is a good one.

6 thoughts on “Catherine’s Block – Progress at last

  1. Very pretty work.

    It’s so nice to be able to see different approaches and different forms of the art.

    Thank you so much for sharing.

    Darilyn

  2. Wow, that block is amazing! I love the butterfly too – I’m just learning the basics of embroidery and have been making myself a sampler which is a great way to learn and practise!

    Anyway, well done 🙂

  3. That is another beautiful piece of work 🙂

    I’m back from my break and catching up with everyone – you have been busy!

    I hope you all had a lovely Anzac Day…

    Hugs xx

  4. I am far, far behind in my blog reading; however, when I play ‘catchup’ and find such a lovely block on your blog Catherine I’m wondering what other treasures I’ve been missing. Time well spent with Sharonb in her classes I would say! Sorry the children weren’t feeling well. Hope no one else caught it too.

Thank you for leaving a comment. I love to read your thoughts on my posts and I do try to respond, sometimes though life gets in the way.

