Frantic Friday – Washday Pie

Ok so you cooked a roast on the weekend and it was lovely. But now you are soooo sick of cold meat and you’re not sure what to do with it – then try this.

This recipe is out of one of my very old cookbooks, a little gem I found one day when searching for inspiration. Now I must admit my family turned up their noses when I said we were having Washday Pie, however they who shall remain nameless….lol, went back for seconds which was the end to my dreams of having this pies left overs for lunch the next day.

Considering the date of the book (1967) I would say this may be one handed down from previous generations when it took all day to do the washing and you still had to have a hot meal on the table when Mr came in from where ever it was he worked. Either that or the originator of the recipe had spent all day changing beds, washing sheets and clothes, doing the ironing and still had feral hungry kids and hubby to deal with.

Either way its a goodie and a keeper in this house. By the way the first time I tried it I used roast pork and it was wonderful, but as the recipe says any meat will do.

Washday Pie

Line a 9 inch pie plate with your favourite pasty.

Fill with three cups of cold meat (any meat will do) which has been bound together with a beaten egg.

Spread meat evenly over pastry and add salt and pepper to taste.

Cover meat with two thinly sliced tomatoes and 1 finely chopped onion.

Top with grated or sliced cheese.

Bake in a very hot oven for 10 mins, then reduce heat and cook a further 20 minutes

Note: This can be varied by adding 2 rashers of finely chopped bacon, or 1 small tin anchovies (chopped) and garnished with sliced olives.

3 thoughts on “Frantic Friday – Washday Pie

  1. Sounds a lovely recipe – I’ll give it a try!

    As for your seedling problems, I’m not sure what’s happening there. Once you’ve germinated them and they are at the two-leaf stage, they’ll be pretty crowded. At this point you carefully ‘prick them out’ using a ‘dibber’ (I use a pencil or a chopstick), basically thinning them out (it will say on the seed packed how far apart they’ll need to be). Keep them in a light (not too bright) warm area, with good ventilation or they’ll get mildew. Keep them inside only as long as you need to, to prevent pest damage or frost etc, then get them hardened off/ planted out asap. Another good tip is to make sure you use a good, fine peat-free compost designed for growing from seed. Good luck!

    Some good info here which goes through step-by step what to do with the seedlings. If they die, what happens, are they covered in anything (mould etc), overwatered/underwatered or do they just not thrive?

  2. Hi Catherine, Your pie was fabulous. I wanted to wait until after I baked mine to comment about it. I have to admit that I could’nt help myself, and added a few extras…lol Happy Sunday…xox

Thank you for leaving a comment. I love to read your thoughts on my posts and I do try to respond, sometimes though life gets in the way.

