New Years Day

Well I hope everyones New Years Eve was more exciting than ours.

We have fallen in the habit for the past few years, of doing nothing New Years Eve. Having young children who are more than ready for bed by 9 pm and knowing it would be me getting up to feed them or change beds at some unearthly hour in the morning, has generally dictated that I would not see the New Year in, at least not awake.

Last night was no exception. The children stayed up to watch the early fireworks on TV which was over and done with in about 10 mins and were all in bed and asleep by 9.30 pm. Considering how little we have done the last few days, they are absolutely exhausted. Ashley and I watched TV for a while, I put a load of washing on the line at 10.30 pm, it was still 34 degrees outside even then, and was tucked up in my bed by 11. Ahhh nothing like the high life. Ajax was barking at midnight at the fireworks that are set off down at the river (despite there being a total fire ban) which woke me up. Wandered out to see what the commotion was, then back to bed. Once again Ashley saw in the New Year with just the dog for company.

Goodness I hope 2006 will be more exciting than last night.

Today is an absolute scorcher – 42 degrees and you don’t need to convert the tempreture to know that is HOT. The wind does seem to be a little cooler at least which is a blessing for Ben (guinea pig) and the chooks. We have been wandering out every hour to hose down the sheets draped over Ben’s cage and to put the sprinkler on in the chook pen to give them some relief. Poor Roger the Rooster is definately showing his age. Too many more days of heat like this, may see the end of him.

I shouldn’t complain though, my sister rang the other day. She lives in the Northern Territory on a cattle station. It is 42 degrees and 95% humidity!!!! She says it is like living in a sauna. I think I love our weather….lol.

Have a lovely day, and if you have snow, go and roll around in it for me….please.

7 thoughts on “New Years Day

  1. What’s RAIN??
    And what is cool weather…..although it’s not as hot as last week: we still have high humidity.
    Happy New Year C and Ashley and family

  2. It sounds like we spent New Year’s Eve doing the same thing – nothing.

    At least we did not have to put up with slobbering kisses at Midnight from drunken strangers.

    And we had no hang over the next morning.

    A great way to start the new year!

    I am going out now to take a roll in the snow 🙂

  3. Happy New Year to you! It does sound awlfully hot though. Our snow is melted at present and its about 40 degrees. More will be coming along, I’ve no doubt. *smile* I do love to see it float down out of the sky though. Better get to bed here, its VERY late.

Thank you for leaving a comment. I love to read your thoughts on my posts and I do try to respond, sometimes though life gets in the way.

