Photos

I tried at least four time to post photos of my Grandparents with yesterdays trip down memory lane, but Blogger, despite my always praising him/her/it wouldn’t co operate. So here they are today.

This photo of Grandma was taken at my Mum’s 21 st Birthday. It is the day after the party and of course Grandma had to feed all those who had travelled for miles to attend. It was country hospitality at its best.

This photo is taken in the room where that special Christmas was held that I spoke about. The window looks out over, what Mum says was the loveliest cottage garden (guess where I get my green thumb from), onto the main road which ran past their farm. Grandma in case you are wondering is the one with glasses and the pinny serving the ever present cups of tea. For once she isn’t smiling – probably too busy concentrating.

Have you ever wondered how many hurts, catastrophes and crisies not to mention happy events have been celebrated with a cup of tea.

This is my favorite photo of my Pa.

Not even Mum remembers when this one was taken, but it is how I remember him most. A smile on his face, comfortable working clothes on, reading the paper. Notice the ever present tea pot in in the foreground.

I don’t mind admitting after finishing typing yesterdays post, I went off to my room and bawled my eyes out like a baby. The memories were so bitter sweet. But today I am in a calm and happy mood. That is what memories are for – to remember those we love and who are gone before us – waiting for the day we will join them.

Please share your Christmas memory with all of us, on your blog, if you feel you want to. I think it makes the day so much more special for all of us when we can share these kinds of memories. We can’t go back – but the future is so much brighter when we remember those people and events that are significant in our lives.

3 thoughts on “Photos

  1. I enjoyed yesterday’s post and today’s with its pictures of your loved ones. I understand how you had a good cry and that you somehow feel calmer today…
    I feel much more nostalgic about the memories and loved ones as I’ve gotten older. I thoroughly enjoy hearing people share their memories…thanks calidore.

  2. All of my childhood Christmases were spent at home on the farm – with cows to be milked at both ends of the day, Dad wasn’t inclined to drive for miles to spend Christmas anywhere else. They were good days and I look back on them very fondly.

    However, my most poignant Christmas memory occurs each year when I begin playing traditional Carols. My mind travels back to the school end-of-year concert and Christmas Tree. It was a one-room, one-teacher school and at the end of the concert items all of the children (about 25 of them) would stand in a group at the front of the room and sing carols and all of the parents in the audience would join in.

    I think of my mother sitting there amongst the other parents, joining in the singing too. It was probably the only night of the year that she went out, and with 7 children back in the early 1950s, it was no easy task to get everyone ready and go out at all. Every year now I think of how hard my mother worked all year long without complaint, both inside the house and on the farm, with no mod-cons, not even electricity for many years. We were always well-fed and cleanly dressed, looked after, loved and had very happy childhoods.

    Mum worked hard all her life and died in 1984 at the age of 72. I often wish that I had told her more often and more clearly how much I loved her and appreciated what she did for us. How I’d love to be able to just sit and talk with her now.

  3. Isn’t funny how we regret not telling our loved ones that we did in fact love them and appreciated all they did for us. Although I think they knew – whether the words were spoken or not.

    Thanks for sharing your memories Alice – your family life sounds very like what my Mum experienced with the farm work, small school etc. Mum’s eldest sister was born brain damaged so Grandma had her hands full until she died around the age of 9 or 10. By then there was Mum and Uncle Lenny so Grandma was certainly busy.

    Kali I’m so glad you enjoyed the post. I hoped it would generate some fond memories of what others shared at Christmas and it seems it did. Thank you for your comments.

Thank you for leaving a comment. I love to read your thoughts on my posts and I do try to respond, sometimes though life gets in the way.

