It’s a small world

I made reference to the fact my sister lives in the Northern Territory in my last post. She and her husband John and two children Benita and Sandy moved there a little over 12 months ago for Johns work. It is quite amazing that I have had comments left on the pervious post, to say that people either worked in the area or state and knew of the station.

For those, especially the over seas visitors to this blog, here is a map of the Northern Territory.
Don’t mind the red numbers or red lines, they are from where I copied the map and bear no reference to anything on this blog.
Yvonne and John and the girls live at at station called “Brunchilly Station”. It is about 1 1/2 hours drive from the nearest town Tennant Creek where Yvonne does her shopping. The next station marked is “Helen Springs” which is the sister station to Brunchilly. Basically they share workers, equipment etc. I’m sorry this map isn’t very clear – click on it to bring up a larger version which will I hope give you more idea of what is where.

Both Benita and Sandy are schooled using Distance Education. Yvonne homeschools them using the curriculum sent from Katherine School of the Air. (I know she will correct me if I get any of this wrong.)

The top photo is Sandy at the computer. The person you can see on the screen is her teacher. The bottom one is Benita working very hard.
The school room is a seperate building from their house, so they get to “go” to school each day the same as my children do. Yvonne has to be there with them the whole time, then when school is finished around lunch time (they start very early) she goes home and starts her housework and other jobs.
Katherine is around six hours drive for them. There are what they call mini schools where children in a particular district get together for both educational and social activities – basically a really good time. The girls also participate in school camps often driving for hours for a few days enjoyment with their class mates ( and to think I dreaded driving four hours to Melbourne for a camp).

Just to give you some idea of the surrounding countryside – here is John working at one of the bores – which draws water up from one of the huge underground seas in that area.
The fact there are no trees is no exageration. It is a harsh climate out there in the middle of the Australian outback – and trees of any size seem to be in short supply.

3 thoughts on “It’s a small world

  1. The picture of the treeless tableland makes me homesick. I’m a bit like a blackfella – my spirit country is the Barkly Tableland. I’ve spent about a quarter of my life living Territory side and Queensland side. It just speaks to me. I also think it cuts people down to size. Too many get too big for their boots thinking they can manipulate the land and the environment – try doing it out here and see how far you get.

  2. I’ve enjoyed this post…seeing someplace different and new to me. Your little sweetie that is homeschooled..it all sounds wonderful.

  3. thanks for this info Calidore ~ it sure is so isolated and a harsh way of life, yet so many people love it and make the most of the whole experience. The pics are awesome and your nieces are cuties.

Thank you for leaving a comment. I love to read your thoughts on my posts and I do try to respond, sometimes though life gets in the way.

