Self Portrait Tuesday

I was going to post a photo of James helping me make Rum Balls, but he declined to be photographed. In his words – you all know what he looks like so you don’t need to see him again.
Boys!!!

So instead of the photo I thought I would post my Rum Ball Recipe. I know everyone has a favourite, and this is mine.

Rum Balls
1 packet crushed plain sweet biscuits
400 gram can Sweetened Condensed Milk
2 heaped tablespoons cocoa
1 cup sultantas
1 cup coconut
1 teaspoon rum essence or 2 tablespoons rum (See Note Below).
Chocolate splinters/sprinkles/100’s and 1000’s for decoration.

Crush biscuits. Mix all ingrediants together very well. Slightly damped hands and roll into balls about walnut size. Roll in chocolate sprinkles and refridgerate until firm.

I generally make these and freeze them. They keep very well and don’t take very long at all to defrost.

Note I generally substitute Rum for my homemade Coffee Liquor – Recipe below

Coffee Liquor
1 cup sugar
1 teaspoon instant coffee
1 cup water
2 teaspoons vanilla
1 cup Brandy
1 1/2 tablespoons Rum

Combine Sugar, water and coffee in pan. Stir over heat until sugar is dissolved. Bring to boil. Reduce heat and simmer uncovered 3 minutes.
Remove from heat and cool until lukewarm. Add vanilla, Brandy and Rum. Place in a steralised bottle or Jar and seal.
Store in a cool dark place for two weeks before using. Allow to mature for three months if going to use it as a gift.
Makes approximately 2 cups of liquor.

I made the batch I am using in 1992 (the first year I was married) and am on the last of it now. This just gets better with age, and because there is no milk in it could be kept I guess indefinately. I use about 2 tablespoons in the Rum Ball Recipe.

Enjoy.

3 thoughts on “Self Portrait Tuesday

  1. I love rum balls!!!! Your thread has reminded me I haven’t had a good home made one for ages… That could change right now – well, not right now as it is 4am but in the day light hours!!!! Yumo!!! Can I come and live at your house you seem like you have it all under control… Better still can you come and live here and get it all under control for me!!!!

  2. Hi Calidore…I’ve come by to let you know I have ‘tagged’ you. If you’ve not the time or inclination to participate..I understand = ). If you are interested, please come by knitting kat when you have time and look at the ‘how to’. Blessings to you!

  3. Ahh Sharon it is only an illusion that I am organised and under control. I am trying desperately to make one baked item a day in the hope I will have enough ready for Christmas. Whether that will work or not is another matter. That the presents are wrapped and some already sent on their way is a miracle and that the Christmas decorating is done is only because it was one more job finished. Why on earth I don’t have a simipler Christmas I don’t know. Let’s face it – I love it!!! The confusion, the stress and the work – what else am I here for…lol.

Thank you for leaving a comment. I love to read your thoughts on my posts and I do try to respond, sometimes though life gets in the way.

